Midnight Memories

Luana Siucho
2 min readOct 12, 2020

--

Have you ever heard that saying “it’s the person, not the place”? Even if you haven’t heard it, I’m pretty sure you have experienced it.

You know you have lived this when you get so lost in the moment you forget time has even gone by. Whenever you are surrounded by people you care about and you forget all your problems.

Lately, in quarantine, I have been thinking about these times. They are the most memorable memories I have.

It has been really hard for me to choose what I want to write about on this blog, but the more I thought of these memories, the more I realized that every single memory was so unique and special because of the people that were in it.

The memories that come to my mind when I think about the people and not the place was all those times our whole taekwondo team was stuck either in a hotel room, at the airport, or watching people competing from 8 am to 1 am.

It was one of the best times I have had in my life. Everyone was always talking, sharing different stories, and laughing. We didn’t have a TV nor food. We weren’t even using our cellphones. It was just us, surrounded by people we loved, laughing and commenting on everyone’s thoughts, forgetting time went by, and enjoying every second of it.

Everywhere we went with this group, we enjoyed ourselves so much because we were together. Every activity we made was turned into a special memory that I will forever hold in my heart.

What I think we don’t realize is how much these memories actually mean to us. The amount of emotion all these memories hold.

If we think about it, we have to take advantage of the times we have with those special people, to live the best experience possible.

When I was younger, our taekwondo group was inseparable. We used to do everything together. They were like big brothers and sisters to me since I used to be the youngest of us all. But as time went by, my friends grew older and started leaving the sport because they either had to study, or they just stopped enjoying it.

I don’t think I really appreciated those times with them, because when they stopped coming to train I finally realized that the bond we had was a once in a lifetime thing.

So never forget that sometimes what we have is more special than what it seems. You might not even notice until it is gone, but if you do, live these experiences to the max and cherish the moment with your heart. A memory never repeats itself with the exact actions that have been done, neither will the feeling you have while these memories are taking place.

--

--